• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Experiance with assistive technology?

gray22wolf

Hello!

I wanted to reach out and see if anyone had an experience that is somewhat similar to mine. I am a designer who sometimes work on medical and disability technology. I have a disabling central nervous system disorder myself and like to tinker with products which might help improve my quality of life. I like being able to monitor my own condition so I know when I need to go to the hospital, so I try to employ home monitoring tech when I can. As this condition is affecting my heart as well as the rest of my nervous system, I buy and play with the FDA approved in-home heart monitors.

A little while ago I repurposed some sensors to collect more detailed data on what seemed to be a strong worsening of my existing condition affecting my heart. However, the symptoms were intermittent and the new pattern did not show during my in-office EKG.

I collected data for a while via FDA approved sensors and it clearly showed things had gotten worse. I was having a very bad episode and so went to get emergency treatment during the weekend. I showed the data to the nurse practitioner who saw me and talked about what it meant and (based on my experience with these symptoms in the past) what she should do.