• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Executive Functioning and College

inkfingers

21 year old artist
So it’s been a while since I was on this forum, but recently I developed a problem that I need advice on.

I’m currently in my last semester of college. It has taken me three and a half years to get close to finishing my AA because I usually take less credits than an average student each semester. Taking a normal amount of college classes causes me to become overwhelmed, anxious, and burnt out. I had been doing well with classes in the past year, so my mom suggested I try taking a normal work load so that I can finish up college this summer. The semester started out alright, but about a quarter way in I started falling behind in a couple of classes and started forgetting assignments and due dates. Now I have several uncompleted assignments and my grades are dropping quickly.

In the past I have always gotten good grades, but I can’t seem to keep track of all my classes, and when I sit down to work on homework I become overwhelmed at all the steps I need to take to complete it. I get anxious about my homework, so then I do something else to relax, but then I forget I had homework in the first place.