• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Emotional Sensitivity in ASDs

Leo Zed

Since I am relatively new to understanding ASDs, I am wondering if it is normal for those of us who have Asperger’s to be (extremely) emotionally sensitive, especially when “negative” remarks (not necessarily criticism) are being made to us. I have been battling severe depression for a few decades now to the point of it being fatal in two instances - one of them being recent. I don’t know if major depression occurs as a consequence of Asperger’s or if the two disorders happen to exist simultaneously. In any case, I feel apprehensive about posting questions or topics here in fear of falling into a state of depression. For me it doesn’t take much. I have read some threads which would make me depressed if I were on the receiving end of some comments. I don’t know if I am particularly sensitive or this is common for people with ASDs. I would appreciate to hear your thoughts.

Rejection sensitivity dysphoria sounds like what you are describing. A disproportionately intense response to negative feedback. It is a very common thing among NDers, more commonly associated with ADHD, but considering between 40 - 60% of ASDers have a comorbidity with ADHD, it is a feeling known to a decent percentage of ASDers.