• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Dragon greetings

dragonfire42

Perpetual outsider
I'm not very good at introductions but figured I should post one in case people are curious about me. I'm 26 years old, diagnosed with Asperger's syndrome when I was in fourth grade or so, and am currently unemployed but receiving SSI because of both my Asperger's and the memory issues I've developed due to ECT treatment I received last year for my depression, and whether or not I will ever be able to get a job or live on my own are currently big concerns for me. I consider myself more of moderate-functioning than high-functioning despite my official diagnosis being Asperger's syndrome, just because of how much it affects every part of my life and the amount of difficulty it causes me. I have a service dog named Merlin who helps calm and ground me in public places. I also don't have an official diagnosis of this, but I'm pretty darn sure I have selective mutism. When I'm experiencing any kind of extreme emotion, sensory overload, or too much anxiety or stress, I'm not able to force my vocal cords into action no matter how hard I try. This is especially challenging because sometimes I can speak just fine, so people who have heard me do so tend not to believe that I actually can't speak at other times.