• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Does anyone here use python?

BrokenBoy

戯言使い(Nonsense User)
I want to make a text adventure game, and I chose to use pygame.

Does have experience with Python? I'm a noob and don't really know what to do. Whenever I try to start it up I get a command prompt, which looks different from how python looks in tutorial videos:
Did I download the wrong thing?

I'm not quite sure what you mean by starting up and getting a command prompt. Are you trying to install Pygame? Have you taken a look at the GettingStarted wiki?

I'm not familiar with Pygame, but I think the better thing to do would be to learn Python from the beginning instead of jumping right into making a game. That's just my two cents.

Oh my gosh what a stroke of luck! I'm a python programmer too! We're twinsies :p

I've been struggling with it, unfortunately. I use a program called Thonny to write my programs, but being autistic sometimes I can't jog my memory of this darn syntax.

Dont even bother with that video there. Making a game of ANY sort, that's waaaaayyyyyyy past the starting line.

Also from what I'm seeing of it this isnt even REALLY a tutorial video. It's more just "here I'm doing this project let's follow along".