• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Do We Have Autistic Physicians Here?

Darwin

V.I.P Member
Hey there,

I am still a student, but am worried about when I will have to deal with patients in the future.
Tell me about your experience when you first started dealing with patients. How well could you mask?

If you are educated and qualified to do your task, why would it matter how well you hid your condition from others?

It never once crossed my mind to ask a medical professional anything about their neurology.

I’m an Aspie physician. I have no trouble with my patients. I just put on my pleasant professional face and I’m in doctor mode. I feel like the amount of communication training in my curriculum prepared me very well for this part of my job. I have good bedside manner, I’m good at communicating clearly yet friendly with my patients and I’ve got a knack for discussing bad news with patients and their family (since one of the departments I worked in was pulmonology, this came in pretty handy)