• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Difference or disorder?

GypsyMoth

Sui generis.
V.I.P Member
I am still relatively new to this and I don't think I understand the issues well enough. But I am getting the picture that there's a clear divide, sometimes between people who have autism and those who treat autism, and sometimes the divide is a more type-type match as in between this scientific study and that scientific study.

Why does science purport that autism is a disorder that needs to be treated?
A disorder would confirm there is something wrong with me; a difference is more in line with having a different operating system.

This article falls on the "autism is a disorder" side.

Thoughts?

Strong thoughts. Strong feelings too.

Another term a lot of these people like to use is Disadvantaged. That one always makes me laugh. The term usually comes from people with half my intellect and a quarter of my physical abilities.

Poorly coordinated unfit and ugly morons think I'm the one that needs help, that I'm the one that needs to be Cured.

Sorry sunshine. I'm from the other end of the spectrum. :)