• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Dealing with bosses you don't understand

righan

One of the biggest challenges I face is working with my boss. I've been a web designer working for the same company for 13 years. There were problems from the very beginning. Its a small company and there are no written down rules or protocols for pricing or customer service or written down expectations for what my boss wanted from me ... yet he clearly has expectations and rules and he expects me to know them and follow them but he's never told me what they are ... or rather, he tells me but not in a way that makes sense and when I ask for clarification he gets frustrated and tells me he's already explained it.

For instance, we used to charge people extra for something he called "designed hosting" ... and so I asked 'what makes it more expensive' so I could explain that to people if they asked. He told me "Well, we take care of them" which doesn't really mean anything ... and he couldn't give me a better answer. He seemed to think that was clear enough. In all the years I sold that product to people, I never figured out what made it more expensive. As far as I could tell there was no actual advantage to it.