• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Change laptop or build a PC?

Jorg

Hi, I'm thinking of changing my current laptop or build a desktop. As some of you may remember I'm an electronic engineering student and even when some of my interests are computers I really don't know what exactly do in this situation.

My current laptop is from 2012 and has the following specs:
-> Dell Inspiron 15R 5520
->CPU: Intel Core i7-3632QM (3rd generation)
-> 8GB RAM
-> GPU: intel hd4000
-> HDD: 1TB @5400rpm
-> Windows 8.1

I must say this laptop has been incredibly strong with use, I've been able to play a lot of games (most of them in low-medium settings), also some 3ds max rendering and circuit simulation software) but as anything in technology is starting to get behind and I've been thinking of a newone.

An option I've been analyzing is the Dell Inspiron 7000 gaming series, they're affordable, and with great specs including a discrete GPU from Nvidia.

On the other hand I was thinking in build a desktop, I could build a nice performance pc with the same budget I would spent in a laptop (I'm around US$1000-1200 budget). I could use the desktop for heavy use, design, simulation gaming, etc and use my current laptop for college works and presentations, light use.