• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Autistic use of archives

J Peach

Hello, I am a masters student in archive administration and records management who has Aspergers Syndrome and ADHD.

I am thinking of writing a masters dissertation about the experience autistic people have of using archives.

I will probably need to do a survey so I am testing the water to see how many autistic people have used the archive and would be willing to be surveyed on their experience.

Please respond if you have used an archive and would potentially in future be okay with being surveyed on it.

Do you mean a library? An institution where books and other media can be borrowed?

Or do you mean an archive, which is a protected collection of information, documents, artifacts, etc?

Because I will give two very different answers depending on what you need.

I had to look up what "archive administration" was. It is an important responsibility, not losing data.

So, I am curious. What is your "angle" on this? Comparing autistics and neurotypicals think in terms of "how" they retrieve data, key words, phrases, etc.? Are current retrieval systems "user-friendly" with the autistic brain as opposed to the neurotypical brain?