• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Advice that could help others.

LuxLuca

Kermit the Frog
Hello there!

Last week my therapist gave some suprisingly simple but effective task that I thought I'd share.

For context, I have a huge issue with saying "no" to people that need my help. I'm studying psychology and have worked in the field as a mental healthcare professional for some time now and am, despite the stereotype, very good at deciphering and understanding the emotions and thought process of others.

As much as this is something I am proud of it has the downside of spotting people in need quite easily. I've developed something I've labelled a 'Hero complex', I cannot leave someone that 'feels' like they need help alone. (At my own expense and often that of my direct environment.)

I've noticed that not being able to say 'no' is a common trait under us on the spectrum, we often forget ourselves and feel like the (potential) negative response of saying no weights greater than the consequence on us personally.