• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

A little unsure and confused

Andrea479026

Hi, not sure how this works, as I'm new to using forums of any kind. I'm 30 years old (female). Since I was around 9-10 years old I have suffered from anxiety disorders and depression. I have been diagnosed with severe OCD, social anxiety, general anxiety disorder, etc. My father and brother have a diagnosis of Asperger's.

I left school a few years before everyone else because I had issues with anxiety and feeling 'trapped' when in class. I was given a place in a 'hospital school' instead, and that helped me a lot because they understood my issues, and didn't judge when I was having a 'freak out'.

I have learned to better handle the issues I have, but it is always there in the background. I still sometimes get so overwhelmed by situations that I have to retreat to somewhere I can be alone. I'll literally rock back and forth or rub the clothing on my leg, it feels like my mind is so full that I want to get out of it but cant.

I have no friends because i push everyone away, even though I don't mean to. I was just wondering if this sounds like possible autism, and if I should seek professional help? Thanks.

6e6c13b4e2611c2c55e1e00ed7865535.png